Stumbling into love

This is the third time that I have been in love.

The first time, I fell because he accepted me.  He knew everything and he said he loved me.  It didn’t take weeks.  In 8 hours, I was gone. When he tried to change me, I succumbed.

The next time, I had more secrets.  His matched mine.  It took a few days this time and I was flying to see him.  I left before he hurt me too badly.

This time, I didn’t fall.  I had felt the careening power of love and this wasn’t it.  I stumbled unwillingly.  I fell in love with his devotion first and then his honesty.

Leave a Reply

