Secrets

I met a girl recently who’s history mirrored my own.  Since I don’t talk much about that particular part of my past, it was odd to quickly recognize myself in her.  A part of me wanted to reach out and tell her about how connected we were.  It took most of my control, during a professional conversation, to hold back.  I wanted to say, “Hey!  I also have this thing that I work hard to hide.  Wanna share stories?”

But I didn’t.  I like my secrets.  Although I would love to have someone who truly understood this part of my past, I have pride in the secrets I have always kept and how they continue to live through me.

Leave a Reply

