darkness

Italo-disco party in The Hague!
(Photo credit: David Domingo)

The bottom of my stomach starts to tighten.  I can feel it like a huge thanksgiving dinner.  The lump sitting there.   Then, it creeps into my chest.  My breathing gets shorter.  My throat feels acidic.  Suddenly, I feel like the weakest one in the pack.  They’re watching.  They can see my eyes water.  They can feel the tightness in my muscles.  They see my eyes shifting.  They know I am not listening.  Some feel bad for me.  A few are excited.  They are itching.  If I don’t leave quickly, they will see.  They’ll know I am broken, weak, and afraid.

One thought on “darkness

Leave a Reply

